Psychology 3330-1: Cognitive Psychology Section 1

Fall 2013/ Brackett Hall 224/ MWF 1:25-2:15 PM



Course Description:

The purpose of this course is to introduce you to human cognition: our ways of coming to know about the world and about each other. This course will concentrate on the classic topics in adult cognition: pattern recognition, memory, attention, categorization, problem solving, reasoning, and decision making. Special attention will be paid to the relationship between logic and the psychology of reasoning, and to the relationship between linguistics and the psychology of language. Our coverage of perception will be limited, because Psychology 422 is concerned with that topic. Development will not be emphasized because the department offers several courses in that area (Psychology 340, 344, 345, and 443). We will spend a little time on neuropsychology, but what we do here is not meant as a subsitute for Psychology 324. Most of the empirical literature of cognitive psychology is strongly influenced by conceptions of human knowledge as structures in the mind that correspond to structures in the environment; problems with those conceptions and alternatives to them will also be discussed.



Textbook:

Course Attendance, Tests, and Grading

It's wisest to attend all classes; there is a lot in a course like this that you are not going to learn just by reading the textbook or looking over my PowerPoints afterward. I'm going to assume, however, that responsible adults do not need an attendance policy. If I haven't arrived within 15 minutes of the scheduled time for a class, you are free to leave. The testing in this course is a little unusual. I will give you 24 quizzes, a midterm, and a final exam. The quizzes will consist of up to 10 questions, either multiple choice or fill in the blank, and will be given on at least one day each week. You will be able to drop your 6 lowest quiz scores. The midterm will be consist of 20 to 25 questions (I will circulate a study guide in advance). The final will be cumulative and will consist of 50 to 60 multiple choice questions (I will again circulate a study guide in advance). Midterm and final exams will use Scantron sheets (which I will provide, out of the departmental stash). In real emergency situations (illness, death of a family member, etc.) you may be excused from taking the final when scheduled. However, to be excused, you must arrange the time and location of the makeup test with me before the time normally scheduled for the final.

The tests and the final exam will be weighted as follows:

Item % of
Final Grade
AVERAGE OF 18 HIGHEST
QUIZ SCORES
65%
MIDTERM EXAM 15%
FINAL EXAM 20%

Extra credit

We encourage you to participate in any research studies that might be going on in the psychology department while this course is in session. You will earn 1/4 point extra credit toward your final grade for each 15 minutes that you participate in. The maximum is 5 points (for 20 15-minute units). You may choose to do an extra-credit research project instead of participating in the studies; if you want to do this, please let me know by February 15 so we have a chance to pick a topic and you have ample time to write your paper.

Cheating

Tests and exams in this course are meant to be your individual work. Providing information to others (or obtaining it from them) during a test—or using unauthorized notes on such occasions—constitutes cheating. If you decide to cheat, I will take action against you according to University policy.

Our Schedule

Date Topic Reading
Wednesday August 21 Cognition Anderson, Ch. 1
Friday August 23 Cognition Anderson, Ch. 1
Monday August 26 Psychology becomes cognitive Chapter 1 Tue. Aug. 27 is Last day to add
Wednesday August 28 Psychology becomes cognitive Ch. 1
Friday August 30 Psychology becomes cognitive Ch. 1 Tue. Sept. 3 is last day to drop without a W
Wednesday September 4 Pattern recognition Ch. 2
Friday September 6 Pattern recognition Ch. 2
Monday September 9 Attention Ch. 3
Wednesday September 11 Attention Ch. 3
Friday September 13 Attention Ch. 3
Monday September 16 Mental imagery Ch. 4
Wednesday September 18 Mental imagery Ch. 4
Friday September 20 NO CLASS -
Monday September 23 Mental imagery Ch. 4
Wednesday September 25 Knowledge Ch. 5
Friday September 27 Knowledge Ch. 5
Monday September 30 Knowledge Ch. 5
Wednesday October 2 MIDTERM EXAM Ch. 1-5
Friday October 4 Memory: Entry Ch. 6
Monday October 7 Memory: Entry Ch. 6
Wednesday October 9 Memory: Entry Ch. 6
Friday October 11 Memory: Retrieval Ch. 7
Monday-Tuesday October 14-15 FALL BREAK -
Wednesday October 16 Memory: Retrieval Ch. 7
Friday October 18 Memory: Retrieval Ch. 7
Monday October 21 Problem solving Ch. 8
Wednesday October 23 Problem solving Ch. 8
Friday October 25 Problem solving Ch. 8
Monday October 28 Expertise Ch. 9
Tue. Oct. 29 is last day to drop
without a final grade
Wednesday October 30 Expertise Ch. 9
Friday November 1 Expertise Ch. 9
Monday November 4 Reasoning Ch. 10
Wednesday November 6 Reasoning Ch. 10
Friday November 8 Reasoning Ch. 10
Monday November 11 Decision making Ch. 11
Wednesday November 13 Decision making Ch. 11
Friday November 15 Decision making Ch. 11
Monday November 18 Language Ch. 12
Wednesday November 20 Language Ch. 12
Friday November 22 Language Ch. 12
Monday November 25 Language Ch. 13
Wednesday-Friday
November 27-29
THANKSGIVING -
Monday December 2 Language Ch. 13
Wednesday December 4 Robotics -
Friday December 6 Robotics -
Friday December 13 at 3:00 PM FINAL EXAM Everything